Dismiss  X

It appears you're using an older web broser: page-to-page persistent audio playback is disabled.

Please consider upgrading to a browser that fully supports HTML5, like Chrome, Firefox or Internet Explorer 10.

The Riot Police

The Riot Police are a five piece alternative rock band originating out of Ottawa, Canada. The band was first formed in 2007 and the current line-up of musicians has been together since 2012. The Riot Police are Alex Boyd (lead vocals, bass, and keyboards), Ian Sabourin (lead vocals, bass, and keyboards), Riley Hawkins (guitar, vocals), Nick Jones (guitar), and Taylor Harris (drums). Although in the early days they were mainly a cover band, with two singer/songwriters (Boyd and Sabourin) on the roster, performing original music was always their goal. Today The Riot Police, perform all original material. They have performed at all of the major club venues in Ottawa, as well as at Ottawa’s Bluesfest and Folkfest. They have also played many gigs in Toronto, Kingston, and Montreal, and are considered a touring band. The music of The Riot Police is multi-layered and contains elements of both light and darkness. It features songs written by the two lead singers and infuses their background of singing in a choir. Featuring strong vocals with complex harmonies, their sounding more unique than ever. This is due in part to the background of the three vocalists: for six years both Alex Boyd and Ian Sabourin were treble choristers in the internationally acclaimed Christ Church Cathedral Choir of Men and Boys; and Riley Hawkins graduated from the vocal program at Canterbury High School (Ottawa’s performing arts high school) and was a member of their highly recognized chamber choir. In addition, Taylor Harris is a graduate of the music faculty at Carleton University and Ian Sabourin is currently studying vocal music, theory, and composition at the University of Ottawa. The Riot Police released their first album of original songs, Those Days, in August 2011. The band’s second album, The Crossing, was released in June 2014 and is distributed through Outside Music. Both albums were recorded and produced at Shine Studios in Ottawa. The 10 original tracks on The Crossing were mixed by Mike Goyette, Alex Mastronardi, and Alex Boyd, and the album was mastered by Rob Fraboni (The Band, The Rolling Stones, U2) using his patented RealFeel Technology.
Ottawa, Ontario
Buzz chart position: 323
Connected sources: 

Content tabs