Dismiss  X

It appears you're using an older web broser: page-to-page persistent audio playback is disabled.

Please consider upgrading to a browser that fully supports HTML5, like Chrome, Firefox or Internet Explorer 10.

Video of the moment

Every week we select a music video by a Canadian group or artist who have recently been reviewed by our editorial team. If you'd like to suggest a video for consideration, you can send us a message using this form.

Now in its third year, the Prism Prize honours the best Canadian music videos of the year. Like the Polaris Prize, it is judged by a large group of jurors (over 120, including yours truly) selected from the worlds of music, film, broadcast and web media. For the first time ever the Prism Prize Awards Presentation will be open to the public, and the show takes place on Sunday March 29 at TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. New Canadian Music is one of the principal event sponsors.

The winner for Best Canadian Music Video of 2014 will receive a $5,000 Grand Prize at the Awards. It will be one of the Top Ten nominees that have already been announced. The list (in random order) is as follows:

Kevin Drew - "You In Your Were"  Directed by Samir Rehem (above)

The New Pornographers - "Dancehall Domine"  Directed by Scott Cudmore and Michael Leblanc

Chad VanGaalen - "Monster"  Directed by Chad VanGaalen 

Kandle - " Not Up to Me"  Directed by Natalie Rae Robison

Fur Trade - "Same Temptation"  Directed by Kheaven Lewandowski

Rich Aucoin: "Yelling In Sleep" Directed by Joel Mackenzie

Timber Timbre - "Beat the Drum Slowly"  Directed by Chad VanGaalen

Ryan Hemsworth "Snow in Newark"  Directed by Martin C. Pariseau

PUP - "Guilt Trip"  Directed by Chandler Levack and Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux

Odonis Odonis - "Order in the Court"  Directed by Lee Stringle

Add new comment